St. Patrick’s Day: Homemade Bailey’s

Happy St. Patrick’s Day World!

I’ll be honest I’ve never been a particular fan of St. Paddy’s Day. I blame this on several things. 

- I’m not Irish. Plus, I didn’t grow up in an area with a large Irish American community.

- Also, in my schooldays, I would always forget to wear green this one day of the year and thus spend the day getting pinched. Traumatizing, I know.

- I’m not a fan of public drunkenness… so when I finally did live in an area with a large Irish American community (Boston), I never particularly liked the festivities.

But, this year, I’m embracing my love for Ireland and celebrating. 

My celebration includes making homemade Irish Cream liqueur.

IMG_4788

In honor of this holiday, before we get to the liqueur, I leave you with a few of my favorite Irish things.

Michael Fassbender (my dream Irish husband)

Irish Cream Liqueur

adapted from How Sweet it is 

5 ounces milk chocolate, chopped (or roughly 1/2 cup of chocolate chips)

1½ cups Irish whiskey

1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

1 (12-ounce) can evaporated milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1¼ cups heavy cream

¼ tsp instant coffee

Melt chocolate over a double boiler , stirring until smooth. Whisk in a few tablespoons of whiskey, stirring until combined. Add the condensed and evaporated milks, stirring until smooth. Add the remaining whiskey, instant coffee and cream.

IMG_4722

Pour mixture in a large bottle and refrigerate. Enjoy immediately (as it is hard to resist) – serve on the rocks or in coffee.

baileys

One thought on “St. Patrick’s Day: Homemade Bailey’s

  1. Thank you for this wonderful gift. Don’t forget to watch Luck of the Irish today! It always seems to do the trick on getting me into the St. Patrick’s day spirit. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

